Table of Contents
In the world of cricket, unexpected and amusing incidents often make their way into the spotlight, and the recent 2nd ODI between Australia Women and South Africa Women was no exception. The clash witnessed a comical mishap involving on-field umpire Claire Polosak that provided a moment of sheer hilarity, leaving players and spectators in splits.
The match scenario
The second ODI of the three-match series between Australia Women and South Africa Women series began with the Proteas skipper, Laura Wolvaardt, departing for a three-ball duck. However, Tazmin Brits (21) and Anneke Bosch (44) showcased resilience, steering their team through the innings. Marizanne Kapp took charge after the dismissals of Brits and Bosch, contributing valuable runs until rain intervened, with South Africa Women at 136/4 in 28.5 overs.
The hilarious umpiring mishap
Amidst the cricketing action, a side-splitting incident unfolded during the 23rd over when Australia opted for a DRS review for an LBW dismissal against Sune Luus. To everyone’s surprise, the review showed that the ball pitched outside off, making Luus not out. The TV umpire promptly communicated the decision to on-field umpire Claire, instructing her to signal ‘not out.’
Laughter bursts as Claire mistakenly signals out
However, what transpired next became the highlight of the day. Claire, in a momentary lapse, raised her finger to signal ‘out’ despite the third umpire’s confirmation of ‘not out.’ The entire field burst into laughter, including the Aussie players and spectators. Claire, with a good-natured smile, quickly corrected her mistake.
Here’s the video:
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) February 7, 2024
As the incident spread like wildfire on the internet, cricket enthusiasts couldn’t resist sharing their laughter. Social media platforms were flooded with memes and comments, turning the umpiring blooper into a viral sensation.